Business Meeting

What You Need To Know About Licensing

It's important to review your state laws and process. Basic requirements and Real Estate Commissions are listed here. To get the most comprehensive information, visit your state's licensing authority. Scroll to your state to get started!

Alabama Real Estate Commission
Must be at least 19 years old.
Be a U.S. citizen, permanent resident alien or legally present in the U.S.
Show residency in any state in the U.S.
proof of high school graduation or the equivalent.
Not have been convicted of a felony or a crime involving moral turpitude.
Complete an approved 60 hour pre-license course.
Take the exam.

Alaska Real Estate Commission
Must be at least 19 years old.
Complete 40 classroom hours of approved pre-licensing education.
Pass the appropriate exam.
Not be under indictment for a felony or other crime.
Apply for licensure within six months after passing the exam.
Pay the appropriate fees.

 

Arizona Department of Real Estate
Must be at least 18 years old.
Proof of Legal Presence in U.S.
Pre-licensure Education Certificate (90 hours).
Contract Writing Course Certificate (6 hrs).
Arizona State Exam Score Report.
DPS issued AZ Fingerprint Clearance Card.
Disclosure Documentation (if you have had convictions, disciplinary actions or adverse judgments against you).

 

Arkansas Real Estate Commission
At least 18 years old.
Successfully complete 60 classroom hours of real estate education of which 30 hours must be in the basic principles of real estate.
Submit a salesperson application to the AREC to be approved to take the salesperson exam.
Pass the licensure examination.
Send the forms and fees within 90 days after passing the examination.

 

California Department of Real Estate
Be at least 18 years of age.
Be a California resident.
Must be honest and truthful. Conviction of a crime may result in the denial of a license.
Complete 135 Hours of pre-licensing education.
Apply for the California salesperson exam.
Pass the exam.
Find a Sponsoring Brokerage.
Complete Your Real Estate License Application.

 

Colorado Division of Real Estate
Must be at least 18 years old.
Complete 168 hours of pre-licensing courses.
Pass the pre license course final exam.
Pass the real estate exam.
Submit fingerprints and complete a background check.
Provide proof of Errors & Omissions Insurance.
Apply for Your License.

 

Connecticut Real Estate Commission
Complete 60 hours of education.
Provide original certificate of completion.
Find a sponsoring real estate broker.
Background check and fingerprints.
Pass the state and national exams within one year.

 

Delaware Real Estate Commission
Must be at least 18 years old.
Complete 99 hours of official pre-licensing classes.
Pass the Delaware state real estate exam.
A minimum score of 80 percent on the final exam is required.
Find a broker to sponsor you.
Your broker completes the employment section on your license application.

 

Florida Division of Real Estate
Be at least 18 years of age.
High school diploma or equivalent.
Have a United States Social Security number.
Complete 63 hours of approved pre-licensing instruction within the last two years
Pass the Florida sales associate exam.
Get fingerprinted.
Submit your application.

 

Georgia Real Estate Commission
You must be at least 18 years old.
You also must be a U.S. citizen or permanent resident alien and show proof of high school graduation or equivalent.
Complete 75 hours of Georgia Real Estate Commission.
Complete a background check.
Obtain a Georgia Crime Information Center (GCIC) report of your criminal history.
Complete your Lawful Presence Verification.
Take the salesperson’s exam.
Apply for your real estate license.

 

Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs
You must be at least 18 by the exam date.
A high school diploma or its equivalent by the examination date.
You must be a US citizen, a US national or alien authorized to work in the United States by the exam date.
Have a reputation or record of competency, honesty, truthfulness, financial integrity and fair dealing.
Satisfy the 60 hour pre-licensing education requirement.
Take the salesperson's examination.
Obtain Error & Omissions insurance.
Find a sponsoring broker.

 

Idaho Real Estate Commission
Must be at least 18 years old.
High school diploma or equivalent
Module 1 and Module 2 sales pre license courses.
Fingerprints and background check.
Idaho and national salesperson exams.
Fingerprint and background check.
Obtain Errors & Omissions insurance for active status.
Inactive license will be issued.
The designated broker will activate your license.

 

Illinois Division of Real Estate
Must be at least 18 years old.
Have a social security number or taxpayer ID.
Have a high school diploma or G.E.D. certificate.
60 hour course covering real estate concepts such as brokerage, real property, contracts, and real estate math.  Take the Broker Applied Real Estate Principles course; a 15 hour course covering everyday real estate concepts.

 

Indiana Real Estate Commission
You must be at least 18 years old and have a high school diploma or GED.
Complete an approved 90 hour real estate pre-licensing course.
Pass the licensing examination.
Find a sponsoring broker.
Apply for your license.

Iowa Real Estate Commission
Must be at least 18 years old.
Complete and notarize Iowa Real Estate Commission application.
Completed background check submitted to the Iowa Real Estate Commission.
Proof of completion of the 60 hour pre license course in the form of a completion certificate.
A pass notice from the PSI Examination Services.
Proof of completion of additional 36 hour pre license course work in the form of a completion certificates (completed during the 12 months prior to license application).
Proof of Errors and Omissions insurance.
You must provide the signature of your employing broker on your license application form.

 

Kansas Real Estate Commission
Be at least 18 years of age.
Have a high school diploma or the equivalent.
Show proof of successful completion of 60 hours of salesperson pre license course.
Pass the real estate salesperson license exam.   
Application must be signed by a supervising or branch broker certifying the applicant’s honesty, trustworthiness, and good reputation and acknowledging any pending charge, conviction, diversion, or suspended imposition of sentence received by the applicant.

 

Kentucky Real Estate Commission
You must be at least 18 years old.
Have a high school diploma or GED.
Completed all real estate pre license courses prior to taking the real estate examination;
Complete FBI criminal background check.
Must apply within sixty (60) days of passing their exam.
Applicants for the Sales Associate License must also complete either 6 credit hours in real estate courses from an accredited college or 96 classroom hours in real estate classes from an approved school.
Take and pass the Kentucky Sales Associate exam.

 

Louisiana Real Estate Commission
You must be at least 18 years of age.
Have obtained a high school diploma or equivalency certificate (GED).
Show proof of successful completion of 90 hours of real estate courses.
Pass the real estate salesperson licensing examination.
Obtain a sponsoring real estate broker.
Provide proof of Errors & Omissions insurance.

 

Maine Real Estate Commission
Must be at least 18 years old.
Hold a high school diploma or the equivalent.
Have a reputation for honesty, truthfulness, fair-dealing and competency.
Complete a 55 hour Sales Agent Course with a grade of 75% or above
Also pass the Sales Agent licensing examination with a score of 75% or higher.
Apply to the Maine Real Estate Commission.
Hold a high school diploma or the equivalent.
Reputation for honesty, truthfulness, fair-dealing, and competency.

 

Maryland Real Estate Commission

Must be at least 18 years of old.
Shall be of good character and reputation.
Take a basic 60 hour course in real estate approved by the Commission. If approved, real estate courses at a college, including a 3 hour ethics class that is commission approved.
Pass an examination given by the Commission.
Obtain a broker.

Massachusetts Board of Registration

Must be at least 18 years old.
40 hours of real estate education.
Successful completion of licensing exams.
Join a brokerage.

Michigan Dept. of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs

Must be at least 18 years old.
Complete an approved 40 hour pre-licensure course.
Apply for your license from the State of Michigan.
Upon email notification, schedule your exam.
Obtain an employing broker sponsorship.

Minnesota Commerce Department

Be at least 18 years of age.  
Complete 90 hours of pre license education (three 30-hour courses).
Pass the license exam.
Take the license exam.
Find a sponsoring broker.
Apply for your real estate license.

Mississippi Real Estate Commission
Must be 18 years old
Reside in Mississippi before completing your application.
Complete a minimum of 60 hours of approved real estate courses.
Pass the state licensing exam.
Find a sponsoring real estate broker.
You must complete an approved 30 hour post-license course within one year after being issued your temporary salesperson’s license.

 

Missouri Real Estate Commission
Be at least 18 years of age.
A citizen of the United States or a lawfully admitted alien.
Be of good moral character with a good reputation for honesty, integrity and fair dealing.
Take the 48 hour salesperson pre examination course.
Take the 24 hour Real Estate Practice course.
Apply for your license.

 

Montana Board of Realty Regulation
Must be at least 18 years of age.  
Must have received credit for completion of 2 years of full curriculum study at an accredited high school or equivalent.  
Completed 70 hours of approved pre-licensing education within the past 2 years.
Pass the Montana Real Estate Salesperson Examination.
5.Must be employed or under contract with a licensed broker.

 

Nebraska Real Estate Commission
Must be at least 19 years old.
High School Diploma, GED or evidence of participation or enrollment in a home school program.
60 hrs (2 courses) of pre license education.
6 hour Professional Practice Standards.
Current Criminal History Report
Exam score of 75%.
Find a sponsoring broker.

 

Nevada Real Estate Division
Be at least 18 years old.
Be a citizen of the United States or a lawfully admitted alien.
Must have a high school degree or equivalent (GED).
Complete 90 hours of pre license coursework prior to taking the exam.
Fingerprinting and background check
Apply for your license.
Activate your license by choosing a real estate broker for sponsorship.

 

New Hampshire Real Estate Commission
Must be at least 18 years old.
Submit to a criminal background check.
Successfully complete 40 hours of approved courses.
Find a broker to work with.
Submit your license application.

 

New Jersey Real Estate Commission

Applicants must be at least 18 years of age.
Have a high school education or equivalency.
Complete a 75 hour pre-licensure course at a licensed school.
Pass the license examination.
Apply for a license through a sponsoring real estate broker.

New Mexico Real Estate Commission

Must be at least 18 years old.
A legal residency of the U.S.
If licensed in another state, submit a certified license certificate or certified license history.
90 hours of real estate education.
Pass the exam.
Fingerprint scan and obtain Errors & Omissions insurance.
Apply for your license.

New York Board of Real Estate

Must be at least 18 years old.
Complete a 75 hour salesperson qualifying education course.
Find a broker to be associated with.
Schedule and complete the real estate salesperson exam.
Complete an application for licensure.

North Carolina Real Estate Commission

Be at least 18 years of age.
Be a U.S. citizen, a non-citizen national or qualified alien.
Have a social security number.
Complete a state approved 75 hour course.
File an application and fee.
Pass the real estate license examination.
Find a broker-in-charge to work with.

North Dakota Real Estate Commission

Be at least 18 years of age.
Have a high school diploma or GED.
Applicants for a real estate license must possess a good reputation for competency, honesty, truthfulness, financial integrity and fair dealing.
Complete 90 hours in pre-licensing courses approved by the commission.
Submit the Criminal History Record Check Request form with your salesperson application.
Take the state examination with a passing score of at least 75%.
Obtain Errors & Omission insurance.
Find a sponsoring broker.
Apply for your license.

Ohio Division of Real Estate

Be at least 18 years old.
Be honest, truthful and of good reputation.
Have a high school diploma or its equivalent.
Complete 120 hours of approved real estate courses within 10 years.
Be sponsored by an Ohio Broker.
Take the salesperson examination.

Oklahoma Real Estate Commission
Must be at least 18 years old.
Proof of Citizenship
Background Check
Certificate of Completion of approved 90 hour pre license course completed within the past 3 years.
Application and fee submitted online.
Complete the Provisional Sales Associate Application.
Find a broker to work with.

 

Oregon of Real Estate Agency

Must be at least 18 years old.
Have a high school diploma, GED, or international equivalent.
Register on the Oregon Real Estate Agency’s online management system.
Complete the 150 hours of pre-licensing courses.
Pass the Oregon exam with a minimum score of 75.
Background check.
Find a sponsoring broker.

Pennsylvania Real Estate Commission

Be at least 18 years old.
Successfully complete 75 hours of approved real estate education.
Complete a background check.
Pass the course exam.
Pass the real estate salesperson exam.
Find a sponsoring broker.
Complete your license application.

Rhode Island Real Estate Commission
Be a citizen of the United States or a lawfully admitted alien.
Be at least 18 years old.
Complete 45 hours of real estate coursework.
Take the real estate exam.
Complete a background check.
Obtain Errors and Omissions insurance.
Take a 3 hour course on Lead Poisoning/Lead Hazard Mitigation.
Apply for your real estate license.

South Carolina Real Estate Commission
Be at least 18 years old.
Have a high school diploma or GED.
Must be lawfully present and eligible to work in the United States.
Complete approved 60-hour pre-licensing course.
Pass a background check.
Pass the real estate license exam by earning a score of at least 70%.
Complete additional approved 30 hours of Advanced Real Estate Principles education.
Find a real estate broker-in-charge to become associated with.
Apply for a salesperson license.

 

South Dakota Real Estate Commission
You must be at least 18 years of age.
A citizen of the U.S. and meet statutory requirements.
Take the 116 hour pre-license course.
Find a supervising broker.
Submit your application
.

 

Tennessee Real Estate Commission
Must be at least 18 years old.
A resident of Tennessee for at least 45 days prior to receiving your license.
High school graduate or hold a GED.
Complete 60 hour pre-licensing classes.
Pass the real estate exam.
Find a broker to sponsor you.
Apply for a real estate license.

 

Texas Real Estate Commission
Must be at least 18 years old.
Must be a U.S. citizen or lawfully admitted alien.
Background Check.
Take the required pre-licensing class and pass the final exam.
Find a sponsoring broker.
Apply for a license.

US Virgin Islands

Applicant must be a resident of the U.S. Virgin Islands for at least 90 days;
Proof of Residency.
Passport or a permanent resident identification card.
Letter from licensed broker sponsoring applicant.
Take national exam and get a minimum score of 75%.

 

Utah Division of Real Estate
You must be at least 18 years old.
Hold a high school diploma or its equivalent.
You must also not have had a felony in the last five years or a misdemeanor involving fraud, misrepresentation, theft, or dishonesty within the last three years.
Complete 120 hours of approved education.
Take the Utah real estate exam.
Complete and submit your application.

 

Vermont Real Estate Commission
You must be at least 18-years old.
Take 40 hours of pre-licensing education from an approved realty school.
Pass both the nationwide and state real estate licensing exams.
Make an application for your license within one year of passing the realty evaluation.
Find a broker to be associated with.

 

Virginia Real Estate Board
Must be at least 18 years old.
Take 60 hours of approved pre-licensing education.
Pass the final exam with a minimum score of 75%.
Take the Virginia real estate exam.
Fingerprint requirement.
Find a sponsoring broker.

 

Washington Real Estate Commission
You must be at least 18 years old.
Have a high school diploma or equivalent.
Complete 90 hours of approved education within 2 years before applying for the exam.      
Fingerprint and background check.
Apply for your license.

Washington D.C.

Must be at least 18 years old.
Take 60 hours of pre-licensing classes.
Minimum score of 75% on final exam.
Choose a broker to work with.
Apply for your real estate license.

 

West Virginia Real Estate Commission
You must be at least 18 years of age.
Possess a high school diploma or GED.
Complete 90 hours of training in an approved real estate school.
Take the state exam.
Apply for your license.

 

Wisconsin Dept. of Safety and Professional Services
Be at least 18 years of age.  
Complete 72 hours of pre-licensing education.
Pass the license exam.    
Apply for your real estate license.

 

Wyoming Real Estate Commission

Your must be at least 18 years of age.
Submit 2 fingerprint cards.
Complete a 54 hour approved real estate course.
Pass the state exam.